Immigration Options for Victims of Crimes: U-Visa

What is the U-Visa?

The U-Visa is a form of immigration relief for victims of certain criminal activities and is implemented as a tool to aid law enforcement in identifying perpetrators and aiding victims. The U-Visa grants a temporary 4 year stay for holders with some holders eventually qualifying for lawful permanent residency.

United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) issues 10,000 U-visas annually, which has created a substantial backlog of visa petitions. The main objective of the visa is to encourage undocumented victims of crimes to assist law enforcement in their investigation and prosecution crimes without the fear of deportation.

The U-Visa grants a temporary 4 year stay.  Not all visa holders will qualify for lawful permanent residence (Green Card); U-visa holders who are applying for lawful permanent residency must show:

  • They have been physically present in the United States for a continuous period of at least 3 years since the first date of admission as a U nonimmigrant and continue to hold that status at the time of application for adjustment of status.

  • They have not unreasonably refused to provide assistance in the criminal investigation or prosecution

  • They are not inadmissible under section 212(a)(3)(E) of the Immigration Nationality Act

  • They establish their presence in the United States is justified on humanitarian grounds, to ensure family unity or is in the public interest

Only 10,000 U-Visas are granted annually.  There is a large backlog of petitions, due to the Congressional cap of 10,000 visas per year.  Applicants can receive conditional approval, where they receive work authorization while they wait for an available U-Visa.

How do I know if I am eligible for the U-Visa?

An applicant for the U-visa must submit a certification form (Form I-918 Supplement B) signed by a designated law enforcement officer, judge, or prosecutor. This certification certifies that the applicant is a victim of a qualifying criminal activity, and has been, is being, or is likely to be helpful in the detection, investigation, prosecution, conviction or sentencing of the criminal activity.

1.      Qualifying Criminal Activity

In order to be eligible for the U-Visa, you must have been a victim of a qualifying criminal activity, Qualifying criminal activities include:

  • Abduction

  • Abusive Sexual Conduct

  • Blackmail

  • Domestic Violence

  • Extortion

  • False Imprisonment

  • Female Genital Mutilation

  • Felonious Assault

  • Fraud in foreign Labor Contracting

  • Hostage

  • Incest

  • Involuntary Servitude

  • Kidnapping

  • Manslaughter

  • Murder

  • Obstruction of Justice

  • Peonage

  • Perjury

  • Prostitution

  • Rape

  • Sexual Assault

  • Sexual Exploitation

  • Slave Trade

  • Stalking

  • Torture

  • Trafficking

  • Witness Tampering

  • Unlawful Criminal Restraint

 

An applicant can be either a direct or an indirect victim in order to be eligible. A direct victim is an individual who experienced substantial physical or mental harm as a result of the qualifying criminal activity. An indirect victim can be certain family members of direct victims where the direct victim is either deceased due to manslaughter or murder, or is incompetent or incapacitated and therefore not able to give information concerning the qualifying criminal activity (i.e. the parent of a child who was the victim of a qualifying criminal activity).

 

Qualifying family members include a spouse or children under 21 years of age if the direct victim is over 21; and parents and unmarried siblings under 18 years of age if the direct victim is under 21 years old.

 

2.      Helpfulness

The applicant must show that they have been helpful, are being helpful, or are likely to be helpful in the future to law enforcement in the reporting, investigation or prosecution of the crime. The applicant must possess information about the crime and

 

3.      Proof of Harm

The applicant needs to have suffered mental or physical harm as a result of the qualifying criminal activity.

 

What are the Benefits of the U-Visa?

The U-visa grants recipient’s lawful temporary status in the United States for 4 years and work authorization. A U-visa may be extended if certified by law enforcement if it is required for the U-visa holder’s continued assistance in the investigation or prosecution; or due to exceptional circumstances. In addition, some U-visa holders will qualify for Lawful Permanent Residence status (Green Card) and eventual citizenship. A U-visa holder can apply for a Green Card if the holder has:

  • Maintained continuous presence in the U.S. for 3 years;

  • Complied with reasonable requests to cooperate in investigation or prosecution;

  • Good moral character; and

  • Is admissible or qualifies for a waiver of inadmissibility

 

Being granted a U-visa also grants limited access to public benefits to the recipient. Which benefits that are available to a U-visa recipient is dependent on the state in which the recipient lives. In Maryland, the following benefits may be available to a recipient:

  • Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)

  • Post-Assault Healthcare for survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault

  • In-state tuition rates

  • TANF funded childcare

 

U-visa holders also have access to services not considered public benefits that are open to all immigrants. These include: Life and Safety Services, Transitional Housing, Emergency Medicaid, Healthcare from HHS-funded Community Clinics and Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC).

 

What are the Limitations of the U-Visa?

The U-visa has been capped at 10,000 a year, a current backlog at DHS in issuing visas to individuals who have had their applications approved. An individual who has been approved for the U-visa can still receive work authorization while they wait for their U-visa to be issued.

U visa holders are not “qualified immigrants” and are thus not eligible to receive federal public benefits or federal means-tested public benefits. This includes: FAFSA, Public and Assisted Housing, Food Stamps, Medicaid

 

How do I apply for the U-Visa?

In order to apply for a U-Visa, the victim of the qualifying crime must submit the following:

  1. Form I-918: Petition for U Nonimmigrant Status 

  2. Form I-918, Supplement B, U Nonimmigrant Status Certification, which must be signed by an authorized official of the certifying law enforcement agency confirming that the applicant was helpful, is currently being helpful, or will likely be helpful in the investigation or prosecution of the case in the future. 

  3. If any inadmissibility issues are present, the applicant must file a Form I-192, Application for Advance Permission to Enter as Nonimmigrant, to request a waiver of the inadmissibility;

  4. A personal statement describing the criminal activity of which the applicant was a victim; and

  5. Evidence to establish each eligibility requirement.

Blumsack & Canzano, P.C.
In a world of uncertainty, you and your family may want to maximize their choices—both in terms of lifestyle and opportunities. Whatever your motivation, Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. always has trusted immigration advisors. We deliver comprehensive solutions and a seamless immigration experience for you, your family, and your advisors around the world.

 

The experienced immigration lawyers at Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. provide various legal services to employers, employees, individuals, and families in the Boston area and other areas. Immigration issues are complex, and if they are not handled properly, they may have serious impacts. We have an in-depth understanding of immigration law and are committed to providing customers with comprehensive solutions in all areas of immigration law

犯罪受害者的移民选择:U签证

什么是U签证?

U签证是为某些犯罪活动受害者提供的一种移民救济形式,并作为一种工具来帮助执法部门查明罪犯和帮助受害者。U签证为持有人临时提供4年居留期限,其中一些持有人最终有资格获得合法永久居留权。
 

美国公民及移民服务局每年签发10,000张U签证,造成大量签证申请积压。签证的主要目的是鼓励无证件的犯罪受害者协助执法部门调查和起诉犯罪,而不必担心被驱逐出境。
 

U签证授予临时4年居留期限。并非所有签证持有人都有资格获得合法永久居留权(绿卡);申请合法永久居留权的U签证持有人必须证明:

  • 自作为U签证非移民身份入境的第一个天起,其已实际待在美国至少3年,并在申请调整身份时继续保持该身份。

  • 其未发生无理由地拒绝在刑事调查或起诉方面提供协助

  • 其未出现根据《移民和国籍法》第212(a)(3)(E)条不得入境的情况

  • 其在美国居留是出于人道主义,确保家庭团结或符合公共利益


每年仅签发10,000个U签证。由于国会规定每年签发该签证的上限为10,000个,因此造成了申请大量积压。如果申请人在等待可用的U签证时获得工作许可,其可以获得有条件批准。

如何确认我是否有资格申请U签证?

U签证申请人必须提交一份由指定执法人员、法官或检察官签署的证明表格(表格I-918补充B)。该证明能够证明申请人是符合条件的犯罪活动的受害者,并且已经、正在或可能对侦查、调查、起诉、定罪或判刑方面提供帮助。

1.      符合条件的犯罪活动

为了有资格获得U签证,您必须是符合条件的犯罪活动的受害者。符合条件的犯罪活动包括:

  • 诱拐

  • 性虐待

  • 敲诈

  • 家庭暴力

  • 勒索

  • 非法监禁

  • 切割女性生殖器官

  • 重罪袭击

  • 外国劳务承包中的欺诈行为

  • 人质

  • 乱伦

  • 强制劳役

  • 绑架

  • 杀人罪

  • 谋杀

  • 妨害司法

  • 劳役偿债

  • 伪证

  • 卖淫

  • 强奸

  • 性侵犯

  • 性剥削

  • 奴隶贩卖

  • 跟踪罪

  • 拷打

  • 贩卖

  • 干扰证人

  • 非法限制自由

 

申请人无论是直接受害者还是间接受害者都符合资格。直接受害者系指因符合条件的犯罪活动而遭受重大身心伤害的个人。间接受害者可能是直接受害者的某些家庭成员,直接受害者因过失杀人或谋杀而死亡,或者变得无行为能力,因此无法提供有关符合条件的犯罪活动的信息(如作为符合条件的犯罪活动受害者的儿童的父母)。

如果直接受害者年龄在21岁以上,符合条件的家庭成员包括配偶或21岁以下的子女;如果直接受害者未满21岁,符合条件的家庭成员包括父母和未满18岁的未婚兄弟姐妹。

2.      有帮助性

申请人必须证明他们在举报、调查或起诉罪犯方面曾经、目前或将来可能对执法部门提供帮助。申请人必须掌握有关犯罪的信息

3.      危害证明

申请人须因符合条件的犯罪活动而遭受精神或身体上的伤害。

 

U签证有哪些好处?

U签证授予持证人可在美国以合法临时身份待4年并获得工作许可。U签证持有人如需继续协助调查或起诉或由于特殊情况,经执法部门证证实,U签证可获延期。此外,一些U签证持有人将有资格获得合法永久居留身份(绿卡)和最终公民身份。U签证持有人如具备以下条件,可申请绿卡:

  • 在美国已连续待3年;

  • 遵守合理要求,在调查或起诉方面给予配合;

  • 品行良好;以及

  • 可以入境或有资格获得不可入境豁免

 

获得U签证也可以使持证人享受一定的公共福利。U签证持证人可享受哪些福利取决于持证人所居住的州。在马里兰州,持证人可以享受以下福利:

  • 贫困家庭临时援助

  • 针对家庭暴力和性侵犯幸存者的受攻击后的医疗保健

  • 按本州标准交学费

  • 贫困家庭临时援助资助的儿童保育

 

U签证持有人还可以享受对所有移民开放的不被视为公共福利的服务。其中包括:生命和安全服务、过渡住房、紧急医疗补助、卫生与公众服务部资助的社区诊所提供的医疗保健以及妇女、婴儿和儿童的特殊补充营养计划。

 

U签证有什么限制?

U签证的签发上限为每年10,000人,造成美国国土安全部积压了大量的已获得申请批准个人的签证发放。已获得U签证批准的个人在等待签发U签证时仍可获得工作许可。

U签证持有人不是“合格移民”,因此没有资格获得联邦公共福利或基于经济状况调查的联邦公共福利。包括:自愿联邦奖学金、公共和辅助住房、食品救济券、医疗补助

 

如何申请U签证?

要申请U签证,符合条件的犯罪的受害者必须提交以下资料:

  1. 表格I-918

  2. 表格I-918,补充B,U签证非移民身份证明,这些文件必须由经认证执法机构的授权官员签署以确认申请人曾经、目前、或者将来可能对于案件的调查或起诉提供帮助。

  3. 如果出现任何不可入境问题,申请人必须提交表格I-192(申请作为非移民提前允许入境),请求就不可入境获得豁免;

  4. 一份个人陈述,描述申请人作为受害者的犯罪活动;以及

  5. 确定每项资格要求的证据。

贝肯律师楼
作为拥有超过五十年的麻省综合性律师楼,我们具备专业的移民律师团队。我们愿意聆听您的意见,并利用我们丰富的经验为您提供清晰的意见和实现移民的路径。我们律师事务所从事移民法多年,并密切关注美国移民局和其他美国移民机构的状况。作为麻省享有声望的综合性律师楼,我们的移民律师团队可以有效地协调其他专业领域的律师共同完成案件,例如影响移民身份的刑事案件或者投资移民的财务或税务规划
 
如果您在语言方便存在障碍,我们的华人移民律师或助理可以有效地与您进行沟通,并帮助您寻找到合理的移民方案。我们将在本网站上发布与移民相关的文章。如果您有兴趣,欢迎随时阅读