International Legal Affairs

商務會議

Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. provides domestic and international litigation agents for domestic and global cross-border enterprises. It focuses on providing professional services to customers according to the complex procedures managed by various arbitration rules.

Our lawyer team handles complex domestic litigation in the United States and cross-border legal services around the world on behalf of our customers, conducts efficient negotiations on legal issues and business affairs, provides comprehensive consultation, planning and solutions for customers' foreign-related legal issues, and skillfully provides high-quality services to customers in Chinese, English and other languages.

International commercial litigation is related to disputes between companies and individuals residing in different countries. We actively represent clients outside the United States in disputes involving U.S. companies and individuals, as well as U.S. entities and individuals in disputes involving foreign companies doing business in the United States. The most common international commercial disputes include contracts, intellectual property rights, and commercial infringements, such as interference with contracts and defamation. In addition, in international commercial litigation, each party wants to be heard in the domestic courts because of fears that the domestic courts may favor local people. Multinational companies need to provide legal advice from an international perspective.

Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. has extensive experience and has successfully resolved many important issues in international litigation, such as court jurisdiction, procedural issues, the acceptance of foreign evidence, and the enforcement of judgments. Whether you need help in mediation, arbitration, or litigation, we can provide you with the legal services you need. We are committed to protecting the interests of our customers in the United States and abroad. Our team of lawyers will help each of our clients find solutions to complex legal challenges based on their experience.

U.S. companies operating internationally and foreign companies coming to the United States face unfamiliar laws, rules, regulations, business practices and languages. What’s routine for a domestic business can be a significant obstacle for a company operating outside its home market. Blumsack & Canzano can help through our International Business Practice.

Companies operating across borders need legal advice from an international perspective. Our attorneys provide companies operating internationally with counsel based on experience, creative problem solving, and cultural awareness. We have a strong grasp of the unique legal challenges of doing business internationally, and how to protect the interests of our clients both in the United States and abroad.

Our broad network includes contacts with national and international lawyers and other professionals to best serve our clients’ unique needs. Our attorneys work closely with a number of bi-national and local chambers of industry and commerce allowing us to stay on top of the pulse of what is happening within the international and local business community.

Many types of industries are expanding their reach beyond the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the U.S., and into Mexico, Canada, Europe, Asia, and across the world. Some of the most common industries in Massachusetts that are represented in international business transactions include:

  • Software,

  • Biotech, 

  • Pharmaceuticals,

  • Industrial machinery, 

  • Electrical machinery,

  • Hospitality, 

  • Healthcare, 

  • Finance, 

  • Commercial fishing,

  • Food processing, and

  • Information technology.  

International business legal assistance can involve business litigation or international business transactions. This can involve a one-time contract negotiation, large mergers & acquisitions, or foreign governmental investigation. Areas of international business law services include international: 

  • Business and contract litigation

  • Corporate litigation

  • Real estate litigation

  • Franchise litigation

  • Business arbitration and mediation

  • Commercial collections

 

For businesses expanding operations in other countries, including business investment, negotiating contracts with overseas vendors or clients, and navigating foreign business requirements, an experienced business litigator can help companies avoid future disputes or litigation.

For businesses with existing operations overseas, enforcing foreign judgments, litigating breaches of contract, or enforcing arbitration awards, an experienced business litigator will fight to get money damages, enforce performance, and protect your company's reputation. 

Like domestic contracts, parties can breach an agreement through nonpayment, supplying nonconforming goods, failing to provide goods or services in a timely manner, or by breaching a warranty. Remedies in a breach of contract claim with an international company may include: 

  • Money damages, 

  • Liquidated damages,

  • Modifying or reforming the contract, 

  • Rescission, or 

  • Specific performance.

Ideally, an international contract will be negotiated with an experienced attorney who understands the most common breach of contract issues and will work to implement protections into the contract to avoid future litigation. However, disputes can always arise and your business can benefit from the experience of a business litigator who will protect your company and work towards a quick and satisfactory conclusion.

Another common term of business contracts provides for a mandatory arbitration or mediation. If arbitration or mediation is not provided for in business contracts, then litigation is the next option, which may be more expensive for both parties. However, for some business deals, litigation may be necessary. Talk to your international business lawyer about arbitration clauses, whether they should be enforced, and how to reduce unnecessary litigation costs. 

We has advised clients on China-related matters for more than 50 years. Our Internaional Practice Team is composed of American and Chinese lawyers. We advise multinational corporations and financial institutions, trade associations, private investors and other clients in their China-related activities, including advising on transactional, regulatory, government relations and dispute resolution matters. We also advise China-based clients on their activities throughout the world.

The attorneys in our International Practice Team have been working with international clients and U.S. based companies for many years. Our work with international clients includes structuring legal entities for start-up operations as well as routinely advising companies with established operations in the United States, as we do for any other domestic clients. As a growing global law firm, armed with a multitude of competencies in various practice areas, Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. has the international reach needed to serve clients in the increasingly borderless global economy.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Related Professionals

​跨境法务

商務會議

贝肯律师楼为国内及全球跨境企业提供国内和国际诉讼代理,根据各种仲裁规则管理的复杂程序,专注于为客户提供了专业的服务。
 
我们的律师团队代表客户处理美国境内复杂的国内诉讼以及世界各地的跨境法律服务,针对法律问题和商业事务进行高效谈判,为客户的涉外法律问题提供全方位的咨询、策划及解决方案,并熟练运用中英语等多种语言为客户提供高质量的服务。

国际商业诉讼与居住在不同国家的企业和个人之间的纠纷有关。我们积极代表美国境外的客户处理涉及美国公司和个人的纠纷,以及美国实体和个人处理涉及在美国开展业务的外国公司的纠纷。最常见的国际商业纠纷包含合同、知识产权和商业侵权,例如干涉合同和诽谤。另外,在国际商业诉讼中,每一方都希望在本国法院进行审理,因为担心国内法院可能会偏袒当地人。跨国经营的公司需要从国际角度提供法律建议。

出口管制和监管指导
制定国际专利战略需要仔细了解贸易和出口管制的不断变化的监管和行政要求。范围很广,影响到出口材料、软件和技术的美国公司或组织,以及可能在自己的产品中利用此类出口的非美国公司。在当前的全球环境下,执法趋向激进,处罚严厉。遵守规则是必不可少的。不了解其中的细微差别可能意味着失去进入关键市场的机会,以及因疏忽违反出口法规而面临罚款和起诉的可能性。

贝肯律师楼在这个专业领域带来了高度集中的经验。凭借我们广泛的资源,我们可以很好地指导您了解美国有关材料、软件或技术出口甚至知识转移的复杂法规。我们定期为客户提供有关出口法规的建议,就分类提供意见,申请许可证或许可证例外,并在需要时提起诉讼执法行动。

 

贝肯律师楼在波士顿的办公室就出口管制和制裁的各个方面为公司和学术机构提供咨询,包括美国的国际武器贸易条例 (ITAR)、出口管理条例 (EAR) 以及由美国实施的制裁条例美国财政部外国资产控制办公室 (OFAC)。我们还提供有关国际出口管制法规的指导,包括拉丁美洲、欧盟和亚洲(包括中国)的法规。具体服务如下:

 

商品管辖及分类

商品管辖权请求用于确定特定商品或服务的出口是否受商务部(通常是《出口管理条例》涵盖的两用物品)或国务院(通常涵盖与国防相关的商品、技术和软件)的监管国际武器贸易条例)。如果该项目受 EAR 约束,您有多种选择来确定其在商业控制清单上的正确出口控制分类编号,包括向 DOC 请求正式分类。

 

许可和许可例外

受控商品、服务和技术需要出口许可证,申请必须准确、及时,并提交给适当的机构以获得许可证。将受控技术转让给外国人(视为出口)也需要许可证。但是,也有一些许可证例外可以减轻出境货物的监管负担。贝肯律师楼不仅帮助公司获得和正确使用许可证和许可证例外,而且还制定综合战略,最大限度地提高合规性和利益。

 

出口管制、制裁和禁运

美国对特定国家、公司和个人实施经济制裁、禁运和其他限制。受限制实体名单不断变化,要求出口商及其外国商业伙伴密切关注最新动态,以确保涉及受管制产品、技术和服务的交易合规。执法行动正在增加,对违规行为的处罚也在增加。

 

视同出口和技术转让

视同出口是向受限制的外国国民的技术或技术信息的转让,无论是在美国还是在国外。随着世界各地公司内部和公司之间的合作不断增加,政府正在对这些类型的交易进行更严格的审查。

 

出口合规计划(BIS、DDTC、OFAC、人口普查)

制定和维护有效的合规计划可以帮助您防止违反出口管制和制裁法律法规,并减轻因犯错而受到的处罚。了解您的客户、密切关注您的交易和业务合作伙伴中的危险信号以及确保良好的内部沟通都是合规计划的重要组成部分。

调查、自愿自我披露和审计

对您的出口交易和合规措施的调查和审计可能会占用宝贵的时间,并导致罚款、限制您的运营和负面宣传。贝肯律师楼与公司并肩合作,进行内部合规审查,以在问题成为问题之前识别和纠正弱点,并协助制定自愿的自我披露和缓解计划。如果启动政府调查,贝肯律师楼经验丰富的专业人员会帮助您进行强有力的辩护,包括必要时在法庭上进行辩护,并尽量减少负面结果。

 

国际贸易诉讼

国际贸易法院和联邦巡回上诉法院是高度专业化的联邦法院,负责监督涉及美国海关和贸易法的所有事项。这包括分类、关税工程、原产国、价值、关税和关税、贸易救济、退税、罚款和违约金、抗议、知识产权排除令和报关行许可。从这些法院获得有利的结果取决于对贸易法和法院程序的详细了解。


贝肯律师楼有着丰富的经验,并成功地解决了许多在国际诉讼中的重要问题,如法院管辖权、程序问题、外国证据的采纳和判决的执行等。无论您需要调解、仲裁还是诉讼方面的帮助,我们都能为您提供所需的法律服务。我们致力于保护我们在美国和国外客户的利益。我们的律师团队将根据经验帮助我们的每一位客户找到应对复杂法律挑战的解决方案。

在跨境事务中,贝肯律师楼的律师团队也可以提供较为初级的法律服务,例如当地公证、州政府认证、美国国务院认证、外国驻美领事馆认证、外国驻美大使馆认证、公证翻译件等等。