Special Immigrant Juvenile Status

What is Special Immigrant Youth Status?
Special Immigrant Juvenile Status is a form of immigration relief available to undocumented children living in the United States who have been abandoned, abused, or neglected by at least one parent and meet several other eligibility requirements. Special immigrant juvenile status provides a pathway to citizenship, but also involves multiple processes in family law and immigration law practice.
 
What are the requirements for Special Immigrant Youth Status?
Minors must demonstrate:

  • under the age of 21

    • The Immigration and Nationality Act defines minors under the age of 21 as unmarried persons. However, in some states, the definition of "minor" in local family law may limit this age to under 18.

  • unmarried

  • cannot be reunited with at least one parent due to abuse, abandonment or neglect or other similar reasons under state law

    • Abandonment, abuse or neglect are not clearly defined in immigration and nationality laws - states can define on a case-by-case basis.

  • Abuse, abandonment, neglect or other similar circumstances occurred before their 18th birthday

  • It is not in their best interests to return to their most recent country of residence/nationality

  • It is declared dependent on a juvenile court located in the United States, or the juvenile court lawfully places the minor in the custody of a state agency or department or person or entity.

How can I apply for SIJS?
Applying for SIJS requires two steps: Obtaining a predicate order from a state court that can determine custody and care of children and submitting an actual petition for SIJS with the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) office. 

Will I have to go to Immigration Court?
An SIJS petition to submit to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) office- not the local immigration court. However, if you are already in immigration proceedings with your local immigration court, you will also have to attend your hearings and update the immigration judge on the status of your SIJS petition. It is highly recommended that you seek representation for all aspects of your case including any state court proceeding, immigration court proceedings, and pending petitions with USCIS. 

What is a predicate order and how do I get one?
A predicate order is a document of special factual findings that affirms that the SIJS applicant meets the eligibility requirements for SIJS. To obtain a predicate order, the SIJS applicant must present a case before a juvenile court. The SIJS applicant must present a case for a legal cause of action or legal remedy. The SIJS predicate order is not considered a legal remedy by itself. Instead, a predicate order is often initiated as an additional request to a qualifying legal remedy. This request is made by submitting a motion.  After successfully presenting the case and submitting the motion for SIJS findings, the Judge will issue the predicate order. 

What is a Juvenile Court and what are common legal remedies?
Juvenile Courts are courts that have jurisdiction or authority over the custody or care of children. In Maryland, Circuit Courts are declared juvenile courts because they are authorized to make decisions regarding a child’s best interest, custody, guardianships, and other matters. An SIJS applicant who desires to present a case before the Circuit Court, must go the Circuit Court in the county they live in. 

After identifying the appropriate court, the applicant must determine whether they have an appropriate cause of action or legal remedy to be in front of the Circuit Court. In Maryland, the commonly sought legal remedies are determinations of Guardianship, Custody, Dependency, or Delinquency (explained below):

  • Custody: A legal remedy where the court gives one or both parents the authority to make significant decisions on the child’s behalf including welfare, education, religious training, and healthcare. Usually, SIJS applicants may be living with one parent who is seeking sole custody of their child. Additionally, custody can be awarded to a defacto parent or other third person so long as they meet the requirements for third party custody. 

  • Guardianship: A legal remedy where a non-parent adults (any relative or family friend over 21) asks the Court for the legal authority to make decisions about the child’s care or property. In Maryland, the child and all living parents (or custodians) must consent to the guardianship. Usually, this is pursued by SIJS applicants who are not living with either parent.

  • Dependency and Delinquency hearings are hearings that are commonly heard by juvenile courts when a juvenile requires foster care or has gotten in trouble with the law. In these hearings, an SIJS applicant can ask the court overseeing these hearings to make an SIJS determination. 


How do I submit a SIJS petition to USCIS and what is USCIS?
The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) office is the federal agency that has been designated by the government to oversee immigration to the United States. To submit an SIJS petition, an SIJS applicant must submit a Form I-360, Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant to USCIS along with certain required pieces of evidence. The evidence includes, but is not limited to, the state predicate order, copy of your birth certificate (or any official identity document that establishes your age).   It is highly recommended that an SIJS applicant seek an immigration attorney to represent them throughout the USCIS process.

What happens after I submit a SIJS petition to USCIS?
A USCIS officer will review your petition and assign a priority date. The Officer may approve or deny the petition, or issue a request for more evidence before making a final determination.  After the SIJS petition is approved, the priority date will determine when the child can apply for Legal Permanent Residency (a green card). 

What are the benefits of SIJS?
A child who is awarded SIJS and is involved in immigration proceedings for deportation or removability will now possess a defense against deportability or removability. 

Also, a child granted with SIJS may apply for Legal Permanent Residency, and eventually, for citizenship. When a child applies for legal permanent residency, they may also apply for a work permit pending the approval of their residency application. 

What are the disadvantages or limitations of SIJS? 
Children who obtain lawful permanent residence through an approved SIJS petition cannot acquire or petition for green cards for their parents. Although most legal permanent residents and citizens are entitled to petition for the lawful permanent residence for their parents, children who obtained their legal status through SIJS give up this right- regardless of which parent abused, abandoned, or neglected them.

Generally, USCIS creates a “cap” for each type of visa they issue. Because of this, some SIJS applicants, depending on their country of origin, may have to wait years after receiving an approval of the I-360 petition. This can cause stress to applicants whose priorities and desires change with age. For example, a child who must wait to file an a petition for legal permanent residency, will not be able to lawfully work in this country for the years they wait- regardless of their age or need. 

What are the risks in applying for SIJS?
There are always risks in filing any application with any entity or institution. When filing a petition, willingly gives another person or agency access to personal information for better or worse. USCIS can use the information to determine a person’s eligibility for SIJS benefits or report the same information to other agencies or persons that may have in interest in enforcing other laws. It is important that anyone interested in SIJS consult with an attorney regarding the specific risks in their case.

Blumsack & Canzano, P.C.
In a world of uncertainty, you and your family may want to maximize their choices—both in terms of lifestyle and opportunities. Whatever your motivation, Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. always has trusted immigration advisors. We deliver comprehensive solutions and a seamless immigration experience for you, your family, and your advisors around the world.

 

The experienced immigration lawyers at Blumsack & Canzano, P.C. provide various legal services to employers, employees, individuals, and families in the Boston area and other areas. Immigration issues are complex, and if they are not handled properly, they may have serious impacts. We have an in-depth understanding of immigration law and are committed to providing customers with comprehensive solutions in all areas of immigration law.

特殊移民青少年身份(青少年保护法案)- Special Immigrant Juvenile Status

什么是特殊移民青少年身份?
特殊移民青少年身份系一种移民救济形式,适用于居住在美国的无证儿童,其至少被父母一方遗弃、虐待或忽视,并符合其他几项资格要求。特殊移民青少年身份提供了一条获得公民身份的途径,但也涉及家庭法和移民法实践中的多个过程。
 
对特殊移民青少年身份有哪些要求?
未成年人必须证明:

  • 其未满21岁

    • 移民与国籍法》将未满21岁的未成年人定义为未婚人士。但是,在某些州,当地家庭法对“未成年人”的定义可能会将这种年限限制在18岁以下。

  • 其未婚

  • 根据州法律,由于虐待、遗弃或疏忽或其他类似原因,其不能与至少父母一方团聚

    • 移民和国籍法没有明确界定遗弃、虐待或忽视 - 各州可根据实际情况进行定义。

  • 虐待、遗弃、忽视或其他类似情况发生其18岁生日之前

  • 回到其最近居住/国籍国不符合其最佳利益

  • 其被宣告依赖于位于美国的少年法庭,或者少年法庭将该未成年人合法地置于国家机构或部门或个人或实体的监护之下。

如何申请特殊移民青少年身份?
申请特殊移民青少年身份需要两步:先从州法院获得可以确定子女监护权和抚养权的断定令,然后向美国公民及移民服务局办公室提交特殊移民青少年身份实际申请。
 
我必须去移民法庭吗?
特殊移民青少年身份申请提交给美国公民及移民服务局办公室 - 而非当地移民法院。但是,如果您已经在当地移民法庭进行移民诉讼,您还必须参加听证会并向移民法官更新您的特殊移民青少年身份申请状态。
 
什么是断定令?如何获得断定令?
断定令是特殊事实调查结果的文件,确认特殊移民青少年身份申请人符合特殊移民青少年身份的资格要求。要获得断定令,特殊移民青少年身份申请人必须在少年法庭提出案件。特殊移民青少年身份申请人必须提出关于案件的诉讼或法律救济的理由。特殊移民青少年身份断言令本身不被视为法律补救措施。相反,其通常是作为对符合条件的法律补救措施的附加请求而提出的。该请求是通过提交申请提出的。在成功提交案件并提交特殊移民青少年身份认定动议后,法官将发布断言令。
 
什么是少年法院?常见的法律补救措施有哪些?
少年法院是对未成年人监护权或护养权具有管辖权或主管权的法院。在马里兰州,巡回法院被宣布为少年法院,因为其有权就儿童的最佳利益、父母监护权、非父母监护权和其他事项做出决定。特殊移民青少年身份申请人如欲向巡回法院提交案件,其必须向居住地所在郡的巡回法院提交。

在确定适当的法院后,申请人必须确定他们是否有适当的法律补救措施或诉讼理由向巡回法院申请。通常寻求的法律补救措施是确定非父母监护权、父母监护权、保护权或违法行为(如下所述):

  • 父母监护权:一种法律补救措施,法院赋予父母一方或双方代表孩子作出重大决定的权力,包括福利、教育、宗教培训和医疗保健。通常,特殊移民青少年身份申请人可能与寻求对其子女拥有单独监护权的父母一方一起生活。此外,只要符合第三方监管的要求,也可以将监护权授予事实上的父母或其他第三人。

  • 非父母监护权:一种法律补救措施,即非父母成人(21岁以上的任何亲属或家庭朋友)要求法院判定其有权就未成年人的照料或财产作出决定。在马里兰州,孩子和所有在世的父母(或父母监护人)必须同意非父母监护权。通常,这是不与父母双方同住的特殊移民青少年身份申请人所寻求的。

  • 保护和违法行为听证会是少年法庭在少年要求寄养或遇到法律上问题时举行的听证会。在这些听证会上,特殊移民青少年身份申请人可以要求监督这些听证会的法院做出特殊移民青少年身份裁决。

 
如何向美国公民及移民服务局提交特殊移民青少年身份申请以及美国公民及移民服务局是做什么的?
美国公民及移民服务局办公室系政府指定负责监督向美国移民的联邦机构。要提交特殊移民青少年身份申请,特殊移民青少年身份申请人必须向美国公民及移民服务局提交表格I-360以及某些必要的证据。证据包括但不限于州断定令,出生证明复印件(或任何确定您的年龄的官方身份证明文件)。强烈建议特殊移民青少年身份申请人在整个美国公民及移民服务局流程中寻求移民律师代表。

向美国公民及移民服务局提交特殊移民青少年身份申请后会发生什么?
美国公民及移民服务局官员将审查您的申请并指定排期日。在作出最终裁定之前,该官员可受理或拒绝该申请,或要求更多证据。在特殊移民青少年身份申请受理后,排期日将决定该未成年何时可以申请合法永久居留权(绿卡)。
 
特殊移民青少年身份有什么好处?
获得特殊移民青少年身份并且涉入驱逐出境或遣返移民法律程序的未成年人现在可以以此抗辩驱逐出境或遣返。

此外,获得特殊移民青少年身份的未成年人可以申请合法永久居留权,并最终申请公民身份。当未成年人申请合法永久居留权时,他们也可以申请工作许可(依赖于其居留申请获得批准)。
 
特殊移民青少年身份的缺点或局限有哪些?
通过经批准的特殊移民青少年身份申请获得合法永久居留权的未成年人不能为其父母获得或申请绿卡。虽然大多数合法永久居留居民和公民都有权为其父母申请合法永久居留权,但通过特殊移民青少年身份获得法律地位的未成年人放弃了这项权利 - 无论其受到父母哪一方的虐待、遗弃或忽视。

一般来说,美国公民及移民服务局会为其签发的每种签证设定一个“上限”。因此,一些特殊移民青少年身份申请人在获得I-360申请批准后可能需要等待数年,具体取决于其原籍国。这可能会给那些排期日和愿望随着年龄而变化的申请人带来压力。例如,一个必须等待合法永久居留权申请的未成年人,无论其年龄或需求如何,都无法在等待期在本国合法工作。
 
申请特殊移民青少年身份有哪些风险?
向任何实体或机构提交任何申请总是有风险的。在提交申请时,您自愿让他人或代理机构获取您的个人信息,无论信息是好还是坏。美国公民及移民服务局可能根据这些信息来确定一个人是否有资格获得特殊移民青少年身份福利,或者向执行其他法律的可能有兴趣的其他机构或个人报告这些信息。任何对特殊移民青少年身份感兴趣的人都有必要咨询律师,了解其中的具体风险。

贝肯律师楼
作为拥有超过五十年的麻省综合性律师楼,我们具备专业的移民律师团队。我们愿意聆听您的意见,并利用我们丰富的经验为您提供清晰的意见和实现移民的路径。我们律师事务所从事移民法多年,并密切关注美国移民局和其他美国移民机构的状况。作为麻省享有声望的综合性律师楼,我们的移民律师团队可以有效地协调其他专业领域的律师共同完成案件,例如影响移民身份的刑事案件或者投资移民的财务或税务规划
 
如果您在语言方便存在障碍,我们的华人移民律师或助理可以有效地与您进行沟通,并帮助您寻找到合理的移民方案。我们将在本网站上发布与移民相关的文章。如果您有兴趣,欢迎随时阅读